FAT ELEPHANTS

Go and make disciples of all nations – Jesus

I have a very adventurous sister. One time she met a prophet who told her things in her life. She was so excited she came and told me to go and see him as well. Well I did not want to see him but just not to disappoint her I told her I would see him but deep down in my heart I knew I was not going to. Then she started following up on me.  I just knew I had to go and see the man. When I arrived he told me I did not have to tell him anything because he could see all my entire life. Then he started telling me things about my past which I refused to believe and in my mind I was thinking this guy must be hearing straight from god (don’t miss the small g). I asked  myself ” If I have been a Christian for so many years why am I the one still running around for special men of God to pray for me? These men can only do so much. They are so few. They need lots and lots of help. Probably that is why the world is going astray.

images.png

Imagine a very fat child who consumes a lot of food and cannot walk but sits and eats more and more. That is what most Christians have become. The bible clearly states in Matthew 28: 18 Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. 19 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

Jesus first states that He has all the authority so no questions like “who is He talking as?” Then He says GO (probably he shouted) go and make disciples of all nations. Now when Christians heard this they went and built a big church, got a man of God they believe in and started going there every Sunday and during the week to encourage each other, to pray for each other, to worship God together, to strengthen their relationships. These Christians are in there feeding as much as they can on conferences, retreats, worship sessions, the word of God, meeting with fellow Christians and discipling each other. They are the ones looking for men of God to pray for them. They think these men of God have no problems of their own if only they knew. They are the ones looking for better churches to pray from. They are the ones asking God for cars, marriages, wealth and all sorts of things without doing what He asked them to do. Now they have even opened Christian televisions and radios whose audience is Christians. The Christians are busy attending to themselves. Does all this remind you of the fat kid? Yeah right. These things are not bad but the world is not being reached in the process. The world is becoming worse every single day that passes. Thieves, liars, bad language, selfishness name it are increasing. And then it becomes a prayer request. Christians are praying against these things yet the solution is simple. Go and make disciples of all nations. Making disciples is not just mere converting people to Christ. It is modelling them in the ways of Christ as they watch you and it needs lots of time. A Christian disciple is a person who accepts and assists in the spreading of the Good News of Jesus Christ. Jesus made disciples by spending time observing potential disciples. He interacted with them in a variety of settings and situations. Discipleship naturally happened simply from a group of people hanging out and growing together. And don’t think discipleship happened over night. Jesus spent three years developing 12 men, 24 hours out of the day, seven days a week, 365 days out of the year. And only those twelve were able to spread the word by making more disciples and it reached us but we have kept it to ourselves and have killed the flow.

The children, we are busy at work making ends meet and the home managers are discipling them yet we have no idea who discipled them and the cycle will grow of probably bad habits.

Then we are watching romantic movies instead of going out and acting one ourselves. We are being discipled by actors who are just acting instead of discipling those who see us as examples.

And the readers I will just write a qoute. Knowledge is nothing without action. Nothing changes until you do something. What you do will directly determine what you learn – James A. Belasco.

Oh obess people. Go and make some disciples. Jesus made only 12 in three years. If all the Christians get on board and the disciples also start making disciples after three years, in like thirty years we will have the whole world. See it needs time. start now. Pull the thumb out of your mouth. You are some ones man of God. You have eaten too much.

8 thoughts on “FAT ELEPHANTS

Leave a comment